Two of my worst enemies

This is the twentieth post in the A-Z challenge (or it will be when I write some more…)

British Museum. Special Guide 7. Guide to insects and ticks in the museum. 1916

British Museum. Special Guide 7. Guide to insects and ticks in the museum. 1916

Two of my worst enemies are mosquitoes and the ministry of interior. Actually, make that mosquitoes. Two mosquitoes.

It is two thirty in the morning, I wake up itchy, and there is a buzzing sound around my head. I switch on the light (husband sleeps well) and force my heavy eyelids to stay open, checking every centimeter on the walls and the ceiling. Where is it? I don’t know why mosquitoes have to be so clever. Tonight one positioned itself on a hanging ribbon, impossible to get. I tried to be cleverer and waited till it moved. It took a long time and I was tired. But the waiting paid off and I got it with my pillow. At least, I hoped I got it. It took me a long time to fall back to sleep, but I heard no more buzzing. I had put some anti-mosquito stuff on, that I don’t like to use, just to be sure.

In the morning there was a life one around 😦 The one I did not kill, or a new one?
In comparison,  the ministry of interior is my friend.

3 thoughts on “Two of my worst enemies

  1. Pingback: My Friend, the Ministry | Jerusalem girl

  2. Urgh, mosquitoes are the worst! A lot of the ponds in the parks around here are stagnant, and so they just explode in the summer, You can’t stop for a minute to take a picture without having your legs covered!

Leave a Reply

