A week later

A week has passed. I accomplished my Nanowrimo goal, writing 50.000 words. All week I have been planning to edit what I wrote, and see if there could possibly be a novel somewhere in there. But I have mainly been resting on my literary laurels and addicting myself to bejeweled blitz. 

I promised myself to go look for a new skirt as a reward for the Nano accomplishment. I mistakenly thought that would make me happy. The last time I bought something new must have been when I bought my red sandals, after weeks of deliberation, just before I finally gave in to winter and stopped wearing sandals. I found out again, that yes, I love to have something new, but I hate looking for it.  Needless to say, I didn’t find a skirt or anything else.

It would have been better to promise myself something simple, like a walk in nature somewhere. I did that anyway, in the botanical garden in Mount Scopus. I was amazed again at how instantly happy even a walk of 10 minutes in some place with trees and plants makes me.

Image

Meanwhile, it is Friday. Shabbat is coming. Too late, I suddenly knew what I really wanted to do today: see some flowers. But my house is calling me badly, my husband is working terribly hard and I have to rise to the occasion. Cooking, cleaning and laundry: here I come!

2 thoughts on “A week later

  1. I too like something new…. but I HATE shopping for it! If I was certain that catalog items would look as good on me as on the models, I would ONLY shop from a catalog…. oh well…. Thanks for sharing… I didn’t know about the botanical gardens… I’ll have to visit! Shabbat Shalom!

  2. Sometimes it’s better to let a first draft lie for a while and get on with other things. I spent this week editing a novel I wrote previously – not the NaNo one. And cooking, cleaning, washing, etc.

    The botanical garden looks lovely. I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t visited that one yet.

    Shabbat shalom!

Leave a Reply

